ATTERCOP


Gettin’ Back In The Literary Saddle

Well, the summer semester is just moments from ending and I couldn’t be happier. Autumn will come soon and with her bring cooler weather, more friends, and new classes. My schedule is as follows:

MONDAY TUESDAY WEDNESDAY THURSDAY
Sculpture (9:30 – noon) Writing Fic.
(11-12:15p)
Sculpture (9:30 – noon) Writing Fic.
(11-12:15p)
Photography
(1:30 – 4p)
Art History
(5:30-6:45p)
Photography
(1:30 – 4p)
Art History
(5:30-6:45p)

Busy but satisfying, I hope.

An article linked on huffpost got me looking into novels of the ancient world (it seems the proto-novel was not Robinson Crusoe) and I turned up a couple treasures I will now hunt for copies of.

 

https://attercop.files.wordpress.com/2010/07/genji.jpg?w=262

The Tale of Genji

Written in the early eleventh century this book seems like my cup of tea. Ancient cultures, aristocracy, fairy-take creatures, a hero, it’s got it all. Plus Yoshitaka Amano apparently did a book of illustration for it, so, I’m sold.

https://i0.wp.com/www.rulon.com/Catpages/internetcat/bindings/dasent.jpg

The Story of Burnt Njal

Now this looks fantastic. It’s an Icelandic traditional from about the 13th century. I read the first little bit of it concerning this man named Fiddle and his daughter Unna.

 

Honestly, I don’t know which one I’m more excited about. I’ll admit that I adored The Lovely Bones and I’m sure The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is going to be enchanting; still, it’s really refreshing to be enthusiastic about something that’s not on the best seller list or has movies made about it.

Now y’all have a nice Summer terminus, as for me I’ve got a math project to finish and a paper about Hamlet to write.

 

-Joshua

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

